IEM Oakland 2017 announced

Intel and IEM have announced IEM Oakland 2017. The 2017 edition will feature 12 teams in contention against each other. Intel® Extreme Masters is the longest running global pro gaming tour in the world. Started in 2006 by ESL, the competition features the world’s best gamers in multiple esport titles. With IEM having over a decade of history, it is considered one of the most prestigious and traditional events in the world.

Till now there have been only four teams invited to the tournament :

  • Astralis
  • Faze
  • SK
  • Gamers2

12 teams in two round robin groups of six. The winners of each group are placed into the tournament’s semifinals, while the second and third place finishers also have a playoff to decide who goes to the semifinals. Group stage matches are played in bo1 while the playoff matches are bo3. Once we reach the Grand Final, this becomes a bo5.