Superb CS:GO Rankings Explained

If you’re new to the world of Counter-Strike: Global Offensive, you’ve probably spent a considerable amount of time getting to grips with combat controls and playing strategies. However, one of the most important aspects of this multi-playing classic is the CS:GO rankings system. Even those who’ve spent several months cutting their teeth with this first-person shooter may be struggling to wrap their heads around the ins and outs of the CS:GO ranks. Need some help figuring it all out? Our handy guide will spotlight all the crucial information you need to know about CS:GO rankings, which you should read before heading over to our CS:GO Betting Sites page.

An Introduction to CS:GO Rankings

If you’re a first-time player of CS:GO, you’ll need to set aside plenty of time to start working your way up the leveling system and securing rewards. If you want to progress through the ranking hierarchy quickly, you’ll also need to be playing at a competitive standard. If your basic aim is off, this is something to concentrate on in training. It also makes sense to familiarize yourself with CS:GO maps and the best match-winning strategies for each one.

With sufficient practice behind you, you’re ready to climb the ladder and progress to the highest into the CS:GO rankings. If you plan on matching the success of your favorite esports players, you might want to find CSGO scores online to get a clearer picture of the kind of hard work involved.

Earning Your First Rank

To obtain your first CS:GO rankings, you’ll need to win at least 10 placement matches. If you’ve mastered the gameplay basics, this shouldn’t prove too difficult. However, bear in mind that you can only acquire two wins per day. Although frustrating, this win limit ensures the in-game ranking system has plenty of time to assess your performance and determine your rank level.

Once you have secured 10 wins, you’ll be assigned one of 18 individual rankings. These rankings are broadly divided into six groups:

  • Silver I, Silver II, Silver III, Silver IV, Silver Elite, Silver Elite Master
  • Gold Nova I, Gold Nova II, Gold Nova III, Gold Nova Master
  • Master Guardian I, Master Guardian II, Master Guardian Elite, Distinguished Master Guardian
  • Legendary Eagle, Legendary Eagle Master
  • Supreme Master First Class
  • The Global Elite

Once you’ve secured your first ranking, you can start taking on the CS:GO rankings competition. However, your new rank will limit you when it comes to selecting opponents. You can only do battle with players ranked within five tiers of your level, although things are a little flexible when it comes to playing as part of a team.

Photo by ELLA DON on Unsplash

Rank Adjustments and Ranking Distribution

Just because you’ve secured a Legendary Eagle or Supreme Master First Class ranking doesn’t mean your ranking is there to stay. Each time you play, your ranking will be readjusted and you can quickly find yourself relegated to a lower skill group. Some players avoid matches to maintain their high-level rankings. However, avoid matches for more than a month and your ranking will be removed. You can still reclaim it after this time, but you’ll need to ensure you walk away from your next match with a draw or win result.

Currently, the majority of CS:GO players fall into a handful of ranking brackets. Gold Nova ranking tiers account for more than 32% of all active players . Only a fraction of all active players is currently ranked at the highest three skill levels, with little more than 1% boasting a Global Elite ranking.

Now you’re more clued-in to the rules of CS:GO rankings, you can start working towards being placed in a high-level skill group yourself. However, you’ll need to be prepared to put in some serious practice if you want to match the success of 2020’s highest-ranked CS:GO players.

Don’t forget we cover the Best CS:GO Betting Sites, which is an invaluable resource to ensure that you get the best offers available.