EA Champions Cup – The best Asian FIFA Online 4 teams battle it out

It’s that time of the year. The EA Champions Cup Summer 2022 is kicking off very soon and there are a lot of things that got all of us very excited. Just like last year, the tournament will feature a total of 12 teams from China, South Korea, Thailand, and Vietnam. The tournament will run from August 15 to August 21 and the squads will be competing for a share of the $100,000 USD prize pool.

In case you don’t know much about this tournament, the EA Champions Cup first began in 2014 as the EA SPORTS FIFA Online 3 Spearhead Invitational, being the very first international EA SPORTS FIFA Online esports competition. The next year, it evolved into the Asian Cup in 2015, and the following year it became the EA Champions Cup. This tournament will be hosted by Electronic Arts and ONE Esports.

What happened in the Spring Cup?

The first tournament of the year happened during the spring, and now, only 4 of the 12 teams that participated in the spring cup will compete in the summer iteration. The EA Champions Cup Spring 2022 champions didn’t manage to qualify for the summer tournament as they were knocked out of the competition by GRATZ, the runner ups of the spring cup.

Besides GRATZ, the other teams that are making their 2nd appearance of the year in the EA Champions Cup are Manchester City, DIH Esport, and Tony Tony.

The main team to follow is definitely GRATZ, who came 2 games short of becoming the Spring champions against FaZe Clan earlier on in the year. While they come into this tournament as the clear favorites, they can’t sleep on their laurels as they’ll be facing really strong teams that they have never faced before.

Participating Teams in the EA Champions Cup 2022

The participating teams had to earn their spot through distinct regional qualifiers. The Vietnamese teams had to make their way into the EACC Summer 2022 through the FVPL Summer 2022, the Thai teams battled it out at the Super League S6, while the South Korean representatives fought for their spot at the eK League Championship S1. In the end, out of all the teams that tried to earn a spot for the prestigious EACC Summer 2022, only the 12 following teams will have the chance to become the champions of Asia.


  • 1st – Wolves Esports
  • 2nd – Nova Esports
  • 3rd – Manchester City Esports Team


  • 1st – Kwangdong Freecs
  • 3rd – CrazyWin


  • 1st – GRATZ
  • 2nd – MiTR Coffee
  • 3rd – NRSports


  • 1st – ProGamer
  • 2nd – DIH Esports
  • 3rd – Tony Tonyy

EA Champions Cup Summer 2022 Format

There are three teams that will represent their respective country, each team consisting of three to four players. As mentioned before, the participating countries are China, Korea, Thailand, and Vietnam.

These teams will fight it out in a two-sided double-elimination styled bracket. Each matchup will be played in a Best-of-5 format, which means that each team has multiple chances to bounce back even if they lose a couple of games in a row.

In every match, both teams will have the opportunity to nominate 1 player of their squad for each of the first 3 games. In case the matchup goes beyond the third game, the athletes from games one, two, and three can be re-nominated. As a result, a single athlete can only compete in a maximum of two games during a single matchup.

The teams will have to focus on the performance and tactics of the entire squad, meaning that they’ll have to put a lot of thought into the way they use each of their players.

For massive events like this the betting markets will be very busy, check out our page for the best esports betting sites, where you can see which sites will offer you the best sign up offers. But remember – this is how we make the money to provide this content, please gamble in a safe and responsible way, and never if you’re under 18.

EA Champions Cup Tournament Schedule

The tournament will start on August 15 and will run all the way to August 21. The first part of the playoffs stage will kick off on the very first day of the event at 4:00pm. The second part begins on August 19 at 5:00pm, with the semi finals and the grand finals starting on August 21 at 4:00pm.

All of the aforementioned times follow the GMT +8 time zone.You can catch the event on the ONE Esports channels. The event will be broadcasted on Facebook and Youtube. ONE Esports will also collaborate with EA to produce exciting content and comprehensive coverage of the tournaments for fans. All of the content will be available in local languages and published on the ONE Esports website, oneesports.gg, and across its social media channels.