The Kuala Lumpur Major is the first Major of DPC 2018-19

The Kuala Lumpur Major is the first Major of DPC 2018-19

The Dota Pro Circuit Season 2 returns with its first Major starting on November 9th, 2018. The Kuala Lumpur Major has a prize pool of $1,000,000 and will see 16 teams in participation. Ofcourse the final event will be divided into the Grop stage and the Playoffs. Only the playoffs will be held live at the arena, the Axiata Arena in Malaysia. The venue has a seating capacity of 16,000. 

The Prize Pool Distribution for the top four at the event is as follows:

  • 1st Place – $350,000
  • 2nd Place – $170,000
  • 3rd Place – $100,000
  • 4th Place – $80,000.

The Axiata Arena

The schedule for the Minor and the Kuala Lumpur Major.

  • Major qualifier: September 16-21.
  • Group Stage: November 9-10.
  • Playoffs: November 11-18 ( inclusive of the Main event).
  • Main Event: November 16-18.

You can register for the open qualifiers by visiting the FaceIT Open qualifiers page here. There will be six regional qualifiers. More details on these regional qualifiers ( North America, South America, South East Asia, Europe, CIS, China) are available on the website.


New DPC rules for the 2018-19 season


Valve learned a lot from the first season of the Dota Pro Circuit. With their experience, they have amended several rules for this season. The most significant change comes in the attendance at Minors and Majors.


Unlike this year, next season’s Minor and Major events will be held in pairs, with the qualifiers for each set to run in exclusively scheduled windows, the first coming in September. There will be no direct invites to either Minors or Majors. The Major qualifier will run first, and teams who do not qualify for the Major will be eligible to compete in the Minor qualifiers a few days later. The winner of the Minor Main Event will have a reserved slot in the respective Major happening shortly afterwards.

All Minors must feature at least eight teams, with a minimum of one qualifier per region. Majors must have at least sixteen teams, with at least two qualifiers per region. All teams that play in a Minor or Major will earn DPC points. Teams participating in the Minors will be required to work on the Visa application in advance of the tournament, in order to be able to make the Major if they win.



The action will go live at the Major qualifier starting on September 16, 2018. The tickets to the event are already live on the website The ticket prices range from MYR 180 – MYR 600 ( ~$43 to $ 145).