Chinese Overwatch Team Story tournament announced with a prize pool of $100k

Chinese Overwatch Team Story tournament announced with a prize pool of $100k

Overwatch tournaments keep popping up everywhere. Even before the Dreamhack Winter Overwatch tournament can finish, there has been yet another tournament announced. The Chinese Overwatch Team Story tournament has been announced with a prize pool of $100000.

The event will be hosted by Zhanqi TV. The Overwatch Team Story (OTS) will play out from December 2nd to January 8th in Shanghai. There will be 16 teams invited to the tournament. The organisers have also revealed the names of the teams. It includes big name organisations such as Newbee, IG etc.

The format will consist of double elimination brackets throughout the whole event:

  • Group Stage
    • GSL-style double elim
    • Best of 5s
  • Playoffs
    • Double elimination
    • Best of 5s
    • Final will be played as a Bo7

The schedule for every specific match has not been announced yet, but the overarching structure of the schedule was:

  • Group A
    • December 2nd-3rd – 7pm CST (11am UTC, 6am EST, 3am PST)
  • Group B
    • December 9th-10th – 7pm CST (11am UTC, 6am EST, 3am PST)
  • Group C
    • December 16th-17th – 7pm CST (11am UTC, 6am EST, 3am PST)
  • Group D
    • December 23rd-24th – 7pm CST (11am UTC, 6am EST, 3am PST)
  • Playoffs
    • December 29th-31st
    • January 6th-8th

For further information about the tournament, Click here.

COMMENTS